Nocona Chamber of Commerce presents awards

Rachel Price, Jo Mays and Janet Barker, of the Lucky Paws Animal Shelter accepted the Volunteer Organization of the Year Award at Tuesday’s Nocona Chamber of Commerce banquet. It was presented by (right) Board President Tyler Thomas. (News photo by Barbara Green)

“Keeping Nocona Great” was the theme of Tuesday night’s 90th annual Nocona Chamber of Commerce banquet.
A large crowd of about 150 were welcomed by President Tyler Thomas. Chamber board officers for 2017-18 also include: Michelle Fenoglio, vice president; Emily Davis, secretary; and Syd Nowell, treasurer. Nell Ann McBroom is executive director and Ronnie Davis administrative assistant.
Board members are Tony Dirker, Laura Dirker Brashier, Patty Fenoglio, Amanda Cunningham, Erica Patton, Patti Gibbs, Rachel Price and Vanessa Smith.
Syd Nowell was presented with the Citizen of the Year Award. Nowell, who also serves as Montague County Tax Assessor-Collector was recognized for her work as an active volunteer with the chamber, Keep Nocona Beautiful, Lucky Paws and the Veterans of Foreign Wars Auxiliary.

Read the full story and see all the award winners in the weekend News.