Election filings ends Aug. 19

Filing ends Aug. 19 for the Bowie and Saint Jo City Council races and the Bowie and Saint Jo Independent School District elections.
In Bowie there will be a mayor’s race with only incumbent Gaylynn Burris filed. Diane Higgins filed for precinct one; Councilor Jason Love for two along with Jason Johnson; and Councilor Wayne Bell will face Bill Miller in precinct three. Incumbent Arlene Bishop had not filed as of Tuesday noon.
BISD has two candidates for place three, Jases Brown and Jeff Jackson. Incumbents Shea Brown, place three and Warren Price, place four, have not filed.
In Saint Jo ISD both incumbents Mike Martin and Rodney Swircynski have filed. For the Saint Jo Council there were no filings for places filled by Carla Hennessey, Brad Bugg and Shaden Clark.