Elections gain newcomers

Election filing will continue through Aug. 19 for the city and school elections in the Nov. 5 elections.
Diane Higgins has filed to run for the precinct one seat on the Bowie council presently filled by Arlene Bishop. Precinct two incumbent Jason Love filed and will be challenged by Jason Johnson.
Mayor Gaylynn Burris has filed for re-election. Bill Miller filed for the precinct three seat filled by Wayne Bell, who had not filed.
For the Bowie School Board, retired educator Jeff Jackson has filed for place three, presently filled by Shea Brown. Place four, held by Warren Price, also will be on the ballot. Neither of the incumbents have filed.
For the Saint Jo School Board election, both incumbents, Mike Martin and Rodney Swircynski, have filed for the race.
For the Saint Jo City Council three places will be on the ballot: Carla Hennessey, Brad Bugg and Shaden Clark. No filings have been reported for the council.