Early voting opens for Sept. 29 special election

Early voting locations for the Sept. 29 emergency election for Texas Senate Seat 30 opened Monday and will be open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. during the week through Sept. 25.
There are four locations open across the county: H.J. Justin Community Room in Nocona, Saint Jo Civic Center, Montague County Courthouse Annex Community Room and Bowie Bible Baptist Church.
Votes may be cast at any of the four locations.
For the Sept. 29 Texas Senate race, voters will select a person to fill out the two years remaining on the term, which was vacated by Pat Fallon who was selected by the State Republican Party to run for the Texas’ 4th Congressional District.
Candidates include Jacob Minter, Democrat; and Republicans District 68 State Rep. Drew Springer (R-Muenster), Andy Hopper, a Decatur software engineer and rancher; Chris Watts, former mayor of Denton; Chris Carter, Metroplex area businessman and Shelley Luther, Dallas area business owner.