Nocona Council to swear in three new members

Saturday’s constitutional amendment and Nocona City Council elections saw a very small turnout of Montague County voters with a 6.09% turnout of the overall 14,372 registered county voters.
For the first time in more than 20 years, the Nocona City Council will have three first-time council members after an exodus of veteran council members who opted not to run again.
There were four candidates and three positions up for the election. The top vote-getters were Christopher Nunneley and Taylor Ross, who both garnered 140 votes. Yesika Rodriguez earned 123 votes and J. Kevin Kirkpatrick fell short of that tally with 118.
Nunneley, Ross and Rodriguez will take the council places. They will be sworn in at the 5 p.m. May 17 meeting of the city council.

Read more on the election in the mid-week Bowie News.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.