Nocona, Saint Jo all-district baseball selections

The Nocona and Saint Jo baseball all-district selections have been released.
The Indians had three players selected in their competitive district while the Panthers district title led to nine of its players get selected.
For Nocona, lone senior Kooper Hansard earned second team all-district honors playing first base. Wesley Murphey and Ty Presley earned honorable mention honors, with Murphey’s versatility placing him at utility position and Presley’s big strikeout numbers earning him distinction at pitcher.
Saint Jo had three players earn superlative awards. Jace Johnson was named the district’s most valuable player. Collin Thomas was named pitcher of the year and Matthew Butler-Everson was offensive player of the year.
On the first team, Kile Thurman earned it as an infielder, Devin Stewart was named at catcher, Brice Durham as a utility player, and Trevor Conner and Jonathan Diaz in the outfield. Payton Harris was named to the district’s second team at pitcher.

To see pictures of some of the athletes, pick up a copy of the weekend edition of the Bowie News.