Connect with us


HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL: State championships are underway



The University Interscholastic League state football championships begin today at AT&T Stadium in Arlington.

Today’s slate will feature the two Conference 1A Six-Man title games.

Here’s the complete list of games.


Conference 1A Division II

Richland Springs 96, Balmorhea 50

Noteworthy: Richland Springs’ Walker Tippie rushed for 414 yards on 15 carries, and the team finished undefeated on the season. The game was stopped at 2:03 of the fourth quarter.

Conference 1A Division I

Borden County 60, Jonesboro 12

Noteworthy: Borden County dominated Jonesboro en route to the title, with a 415-197 edge in total offense. The game was stopped at 7:23 of the fourth quarter.


Conference 2A Division II

10 a.m., Iraan (15-0) vs. Bremond (15-0)

Conference 2A Division I

1 p.m., Crawford (14-1) vs. Refugio (14-1)

Conference 3A Division II

5 p.m., Gunter (15-0) vs. Boling (13-2)

Conference 3A Division I

8 p.m., Mineola (13-2) vs. Yoakum (11-4)


Conference 4A Division II

Noon, Sweetwater (13-1) vs. West Orange-Stark (15-0)

Conference 4A Division I

4 p.m., Abilene Wylie (12-1) vs. Carthage (13-2)

Conference 5A Division II

8 p.m., Aledo (15-0) vs. Corpus Christi Calallen (14-1)


Conference 5A Division I

Noon, Dallas Highland Park (13-2) vs. Temple (12-3)

Conference 6A Division II

4 p.m., DeSoto (15-0) vs. Cibolo Steele (14-1)

Conference 6A Division I

8 p.m., Conroe The Woodlands (15-0) vs. Austin Lake Travis (14-1)

University Interscholastic League. (Logo provided by the UIL, used with permission) 

Continue Reading


Nocona new press box put into place



(Courtesy photo)

Nocona got its new press box into place this week at Jack Crane Stadium. The old press box, which was in place for more than 60 years, was taken out in early June and moved to Indian Valley Raceway. The new press box was by the Southern Bleacher Company out of Graham. Athletic Director Black Crutsinger said they looked at a lot of press boxes and decided they liked the one at Lindsay High School and went with that model. Sean Hutson operated the crane from the Hurd Crane Service that put the press box up for Nocona.

Continue Reading


Richey repeats at IFYR



(Courtesy photo)

Sunset native Cason Richey (right) and his team roping partner Beldon Cox from Weatherford repeated as the International Finals Youth Rodeo champions last weekend at Shawnee, OK. Richey and Cox won the previous year and were able to complete the repeat by catching three steers in a combined time of 16.6 seconds. Richey is expected to compete attend Texas Tech University this fall and compete on the rodeo team.

Continue Reading


Youth rodeo awards presented



The Chisholm Trail Youth Rodeo presented awards for its summer season this week. Tess Egenbacher won the top cowgirl buckle for the 13-18 age division, which was presented to her by Kyle Bishop. (Courtesy photo)

The Chisholm Trail Youth Rodeo had its awards ceremony this week, giving out plaques and buckles to the top competitors throughout the summer season.
There were four age categories with five events to compete in for the young athletes.
Along with the best results in each event, at the end the overall best cowboy and cowgirl in each age division was awarded as well.
The lead line division, in which an adult helps the young competitors, saw Rylee Stewart win the first in poles, barrel racing and mystery event on her way to win top cowgirl.
Hattie Snow got the fastest time in the flags event and Lany Shupak got the fastest goat time. Riggin Bishop got named the top cowboy in the division.
In the eight-and-under division, Whitley Goins won the top cowgirl and Trell Carpenter won top cowboy. Goins got the fastest times in barrel racing, flags and mystery event. Carpenter got the fastest time in poles and goats.
In the 9-12 age division, Sage Keck won the top cowgirl while Chisum Carpenter won the top cowboy. Keck got the fastest times in four of the five divisions. Only Layna Taylor getting the fastest goat time prevented her from winning in a clean sweep.
In the 13-18 age division, Tess Egenbacher won the top overall cowgirl award.
Kiley McCracken won both the barrel racing and flags event. Emma Strahan won the poles and mystery event. Hadlee Bryan won the goats event.
There was no top overall cowboy in the age division.

To see the times for the winners of each event in all four age categories along with pictures of all of the top cowboys and cowgirls, pick up a copy of the weekend edition of the Bowie News.

Continue Reading